More adventures, this time in Perth

So, I’ve been back from travelling for just over 2 weeks now, (crazy I know) and I thought it was high time that I did a blog post considering I’ve been highly neglecting it all throughout Australia…Firstly, I want to say how amazing this time has been, but you will know that if you have spoken to me at all or seen any of my many many many many many many Instagram/Facebook posts (sorry for the spam…). The first thing that people always ask me is; what was the best thing you did? I say it’s impossible to answer because basically everything I did was incredible. There was no, one thing that stood out from all the rest.

However, if we’re considering which cultural experience was best, obviously the culture difference between home and Australia was marginal compared to the difference between here and India and Thailand (but I’ve already covered my experiences there in previous posts). So culturally, it was those countries that were the better experience, however, I didn’t go to Australia for the culture, I went for the weather, the nature, the sights and the fun! But actually, every culture is at least a little bit different. The history obviously and the history of the aboriginals was super interesting and just even the ways that people from the UK and people from Australia behaved, although still both Western behaviour was sometimes quite different. One thing I did notice was that people were so much friendlier, everywhere, the bus drivers were helpful, the shop assistants and bar keeps served you with a smile; it was like they were actually happy to work! It was so refreshing and I absolutely loved it. I’m putting it down to the vitamin D from all the sun that they get but that’s just a theory! And also everyone in Australia seemed perfectly ok with using very strong language to talk to their mates… calling each other c*nts and such like… and they shorten everything. Literally everything that’s more than one syllable; it’s really quite amusing.

Anyway, I was lucky enough to explore lots of Australia. First I spent 3 weeks in Perth and the surrounding areas, staying with my godparents and them being my personal tour guides, which I am extremely grateful for! I was looked after in a sense which was very much welcomed after being essentially completely on my own in India and Thailand. It was great spending time with that part of my family that I hadn’t seen in about ten years. It was just like a little slice of home and after the hustle and bustle and stress and everything from India especially it was so nice to relax a bit. It was like a big sigh of relief when I stepped off the plane and didn’t feel on edge that I was going to be stared at for my clothing choices, speaking of which I had to make a quick trip to target to buy some more clothes because I only had one pair of shorts!

I had so many different and wonderful experiences when I was in Perth. As soon as my godfather collected me from the airport he took me to see some wild kangaroos which I got waaay too overexcited about! After that there was wineries and wine tasting, there were chocolate factories, there was camping, there were zoos, aquariums, lots of amazing food and drinks, there was sun, there was sunburn, there was beaches there was snorkelling, which by the way, is my new favourite thing I absolutely love it. I just kept thinking how lucky my godparents were that they were able to go to the beach whenever they wanted and do fun stuff there and water sports and diving etc. When we have a sunny day our options are pub or a walk… When I’d visited my first Australian beach, we had a shark warning and someone pulled a snake out of a rock, first and only wild snake that I was to see in Australia actually, all within the space of five minutes and it did kinda freak me out I must admit! I went swimming with dolphins too which had been on my bucket list since I was about ten! It was so incredible and when you put your head under the water you could hear them speaking to each other and the different noises they were making and I got so excited I accidentally inhaled a load of seawater into my snorkel…

I (obviously) think Perth is a lovely place but somewhere that you want to live and spend time properly, not to backpack. I still had an incredible time but I think that was because I had my godparents showing me round and they had a car so they could take me to places that were a little bit further out. I still felt at this point that I hadn’t done proper ‘backpacking’ yet which was why I was sooo super excited for the next part of my adventure which would be hostels and no hand holding! I’m going to leave you with this for now before I bore you all to death but my next post will be up shortly about the next part of my time in Aus! Until then, adventurers!

Leave a Reply

